If you are involved in an Automobile accident, you have insurance on the car you were driving, and you are injured in the accident, you are entitled to the following benefits (known as “PIP benefits”).
The medical expense provision of the Michigan no-fault law provides reimbursement for all medical expenses incurred due to your personal injuries from the auto accident. Dependent upon the type of insurance coverage involved, these may be coordinated benefits, which pay all expenses not covered by your basic health insurance; or full benefits, which pay all medical expenses incurred, even if those are paid by a health insurance provider.
Pursuant to the Michigan no-fault act, attendant care benefits are recoverable in the event of serious personal injury from an auto accident. Attendant care benefits are also referred to as nursing services, and are defined by attendant care lawyers as "activities of daily living," such as monitoring and supervision for safety reasons, administering medication, bathing, dressing, ambulation, styling/combing of hair, other grooming, help using the toilet, driving the patient, fetching things for the patient, carrying and lifting things for the patient, and wound care. Attendant care can be performed by nurses, as well as family members or legal guardians who perform nursing services. Family members or legal guardians who perform the attendant care services are entitled to compensation.
The wage loss provision of the Michigan no-fault law will reimburse you for 85 percent of any wages lost as a result of your injuries, up to a statutory monthly maximum that is adjusted every year.
Part of the medical expense provision of the Michigan no-fault act provides for reimbursement of transportation expenses, including expenses for mileage to and from doctors' offices, hospitals and rehabilitation clinics, or bus and taxi fare in the event you do not drive. Please keep a detailed record of your mileage expenses and submit them to the insurance company along with your other medical bills.
One of these copies is supposed to be filed with the MI Secretary of State.
MAKE SURE to keep a copy of your Proof of Insurance in your vehicle to be ready to present to any Michigan Police Officer upon request.
Use it or Lose it – The law in the state of Michigan requires that you present a claim for PIP benefits to your insurance company within one year from the date of the accident in the form of a WRITTEN NOTICE! (This is known as the “1 year back rule”).
Your insurance company will usually have a standard form for PIP Benefits entitled something as “Application for Benefits.”
PIP benefits are payable as loss accrues.
PIP benefits become overdue if not paid within 30 days after an insurer receives reasonable proof of the fact and of the amount of the loss sustained.
These PIP Benefits are still available even in the accident occurs in a different state or in Canada – MCL 500.3111
If you are either an operator or passenger of a motorcycle and you suffer injury from an accident with another motor vehicle, you claim PIP benefits first from:
If you are injured while driving your EMPLOYER’S vehicle, you are entitled to PIP benefits under your Employer’s Auto Insurance Policy. This applies to not only the employee but their spouse or any relative that lives in the employee’s household.
If a family member or loved one, such as a spouse, child, or parent, is killed in car or truck accident in Michigan, then his or her survivors and dependents may be entitled to receive No-Fault "survivors' loss" benefits.
Assigned Claims Plan
The Michigan Secretary of State maintains an Assigned Claims Plan and facility.
If you are injured in an Auto Accident that arises out of the ownership, operation, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle in this state you may obtain personal protection insurance benefits through an assigned claims plan if:
Limitations of Assigned Claims Plans
If you are driving a motor vehicle on the roadways of Michigan without AUTO INSURANCE and you are involved in a vehicular accident - you need to know this:
If you have questions regarding a vehicle accident and your rights in the State of Michigan call the law offices of Jeffrey W. Hartkop at (586) 412-3400.
$350,000.00 for an automobile accident in Macomb County
$310,000.00 for a premises liability client
Overall rating Excellent ★★★★★
Jeff was referred to me by my business attorney for an auto accident. From day 1 he has gone out of his way to treat me with kindness, respect and honesty. His explanations of the processes...