The Law in Michigan concerning slip and falls has changed a lot over the past 20 years. As our state government has become more conservative, they have made it harder and harder to collect money damages for slip and fall injuries. Before establishing whether you have a cause of action against a premises owner, there are a number of things that you should do immediately to protect your rights. The first 10 things you should do are:
1. Report the incident to the premises owner
2. Demand to make an incident report
3. Get a copy of the incident report you make – this is very important as most premises owners will not want to give you one, but you are ENTITLED to it
4. Take pictures of the area of the incident immediately following (This is to preserve the layout of the area at the exact time of the occurrence)
5. Seek immediate medical attention!
6. Make sure to inform the medical care provider what caused you to slip and fall – Medical Records can be your friend or enemy depending exactly on what you say/ describe
7. Don’t speak to any representative of the premises owner’s insurance company until you have spoken with a lawyer
8. Don’t let anyone take a recorded statement from you about the incident
9. Find out if there are any witnesses to the accident
10. If anybody witnessed the accident - get their name, address and telephone number – you will need them later
If you have any questions regarding a slip and fall injury in the State of Michigan call the Law Offices of Jeffrey W. Hartkop today at (586) 412-3400.
$350,000.00 for an automobile accident in Macomb County
$310,000.00 for a premises liability client
Overall rating Excellent ★★★★★
Jeff was referred to me by my business attorney for an auto accident. From day 1 he has gone out of his way to treat me with kindness, respect and honesty. His explanations of the processes...